Monday, March 6, 2017

Off the Ice by Julie Cross Blog Tour & Giveaway

Off the Ice (Juniper Falls #1) by Julie Cross
Publication Date: February 27, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen


The NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of Whatever Life Throws at You kicks off a brand-new series perfect for fans of Miranda Kennealy and Abbi Glines.

All is fair in love and hockey…

Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.

Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.

It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.

For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.









Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).
She’s also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!

Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.

She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.

Outside of her reading and writing cred, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Who or what was your biggest inspiration in life?

My biggest inspiration? This is the kind of question you either have an immediate response to or you dig for one small thread of your life that’s relevant to the audience and paint as your biggest inspiration. Since I don’t have a precise answer already hanging out in the wings and I’m not gifted at hyperbole, perhaps instead I’ll ponder the reasons for my lack of a precise answer with a story that may help clarify this. In early 2011, I was working on the copyedits for my very first novel, Tempest, which released January 2012. I was asked to add my acknowledgements and when I sat down to thank anyone and everyone who had helped get that book onto a shelf the list went on and on--five pages long to be exact. The main reason for this is that I’m not someone who can write, or do anything, in a vacuum. I look to any resource available to help me get what I need, whether that’s beta readers, experts in something I’m not an expert in like science, math, law...I’ve asked the CPR instructor during my required course for work how to treat a gunshot wound, if it was possible to fake not having pulse. At that’s just in my adult life. In third grade, I relied on Judy Blume and Margaret to help me understand this menstrual cycle I would eventually face and I learned from Margaret that religion was a personal experience and shouldn’t be entered into without all the facts. When my first-born was a toddler I was enrolled in Psychology 101. I sought out my instructor many times during office hours to get her opinions on different types of education--Montessori vs public schools, vs Classical model education. I asked questions about normal child development, not for school but for motherly reasons. Now that I’ve spread my life out in one overly long paragraph, I think it’s safe to conclude that questions are my inspiration. Questions that linger urge you to act, actions lead to results. A good book always asks important questions of the reader and can provide some answers as well. Good teachers do this too and so does intellectual and creative curiosity. And most of the books I write begin with a character who has a question. That character’s question inspires me to write page after page.

So there you have it, my biggest inspiration in life. Questions. Allow yourself some unstructured time to form important and interesting questions and soon you’ll find inspiration.

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

a Rafflecopter giveaway